Sigma Delta Lambda Sorority, Inc. was founded on September 26, 1996 by eleven collegiate women at Southwest Texas State University, now Texas State University. Tina Deolloz, Becky Duran, Dora Garcia, Anna Juarez, Sandra Martinez, Denise Meras, Becky Perez, Chrissy Salinas, Emily Trevino, Cynthia Velasquez, and Vickie Villasana felt that their university lacked a Greek organization that provided a support network geared towards helping Latinas succeed in higher education. With their hard work and vision Sigma Delta Lambda was established. Many others shared in this same vision allowing Sigma Delta Lambda to expand into a sisterhood of diverse women.